Starting fresh.

Autumn is a time of change. The nights draw in, the air freshens, and the tired leaves of late summer explode from their stagnancy into a riot of colour – one last hurrah before winter’s cloak is drawn over the landscape.

Last week, as I was leaning over a bridge on the River Lune ahead of a day chasing salmon, on what was a particularly splendid autumn morning, I had, for the first time in a long time, an urge to write about the cool air, the smell of earth, the river tumbling beneath me. I remembered the old blog I abandoned a few years ago, and toyed briefly with the idea of reviving it. However, looking back, I found its parameters too restrictive – more a series of long winded fishing reports than a place where I could really exercise any creative license. So, just as the leaves of autumn must die to make room for spring’s flush of life, it is time for my old blog the shuffle off this literary coil and make way for the new. Of course, I may dip back into its pages here and there to revisit and retell old stories, but for the most part this will be a fresh start. Hopefully one I can come back to more than once every four or five months. Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

